Sign in to follow this  
boptart

Some suggestions from a former developer

2 posts in this topic

I won't mention any names as some servers don't like when people do that, but I am a former lead balance/content developer from a successful, highly rated 3.3.5 funserver.

One thing I have noticed is the unused heroic vs normal dungeon and 10 vs 25 man raid mechanics, including normal and heroic for both 10/25 in some raids.
There is no denying that some people really only want to solo grind while others enjoy a mix of solo, grouping, or even only grouping for content and having the same tier dungeon/raid in different difficulties could address this. Dwindling private server, and wow in general, numbers lead to almost a necessity of having the ability to do all content without needing more than 1 to 3 people.

There is also a glaring uselessness of gold from what I've seen. There are MANY easy and simple ways to make gold useful and they probably should exist in some form.

My suggestions would be :

1. It seems you are planning on going with low stats on the new realm but alternatively you could just stat crunch the current realm in a matter of minutes to hit everything from stats to mob hp/damage/resistances and end up in a nice place.

2. Utilize normal vs heroic, 10 vs 25 versions of dungeons and raids. Far too many..maybe every server with custom instances just slaps it into 10 man normal. Why? Utilize normal/10 as a solo content type dungeon and then turn heroic/25 into something meant for grouping. Increased difficulty, increased drops, maybe add some drop only "heroic" versions of items in that tier.